Eleventh Hour Blanket Rendition

2015-11-25 17.01.18BUURRRRR!  If you haven’t noticed lately…it’s cold out there!  In fact, it got down to 41 degrees today.  (FYI that’s cold for us So-Cal people!)  In fact, for the last few nights, I’ve gone to bed dressed like an Inuit to try to keep warm!  (You see, my house has furnace heating and I do not like to leave it on while we sleep.)

inuit2

While wearing a million layers helped me keep warm, I have to say it wasn’t very comfortable.  Naturally, I began to scour the web for the FASTEST and WARMEST blanket pattern I could find.  Luckily, I found the Purl Soho’s Eleventh Hour Blanket!

 (As shown below!)

11th hr

Let me first say that the Purl Soho’s pattern is absolutely beautiful!  If I could afford it, I would have loved to complete the pattern exactly as they wrote it.  However, in order to adjust their pattern to fit my Queen-sized bed, it would have required 10+ balls of their gorgeous Cascade Magnum yarn which is $24.90 a ball and lezbehonest…

Im poor

So naturally, I began working on a more cost-effective idea to “get the look”.  First, I calculated how many stitches I would need to work with in order to fit my Queen-sized bed decently.  I decided to go with 65 stitches, however, if I could do it over again, I would probably go with  71 so it would drape over the bed more.  Next, I began to look for some cheaper bulky yarn that still had some wool in it in order to retain warmth.  After debating between Lion Brand’s Wool Ease Think & Quick and Loops and Threads’ Cozy Wool, I decided to go with the latter due to the deals that were available.  I ended up purchasing 14 balls of Cozy Wool in an off-white color for $5 a ball plus 20% off my purchase. (If you’re looking to duplicate my version of the pattern, make sure to add 2 extra balls if you wish to do 71 stitches rather than my original 65.)

Now, all that was left to do was to get to work.  I picked up my size 36 circular needles and casted on 65 stitches, working 2 balls of yarn at a time.  I followed the K1, P1, adding new balls of yarn as I went, until the blanket reached my desired length of about 55-60 inches.  (It’s very stretchy, so the dimensions change.)  With an adequate amount of yarn left, I binded off, sewed in, and boom… after only TWO DAYS a new, warm blanket was born and boy was she a ‘beaut.  At almost 1/4th the cost, I was able to create a decent stand-in for the original Eleventh Hour Blanket.

2015-11-25 16.51.50

In the end, I can honestly say I am absolutely thrilled with how the blanket came out and how warm I was last night!  Now, I no longer have to layer up before bed –PLUS– I still had some extra money left over to go to the movies!  Win-win.  Eventually, I am going to add an edging to the blanket like they did in the original pattern, but for now, I am knee-deep in knitting washcloths for holiday gifts!

always, ashley

Leave a comment

Filed under All Patterns, Easy Patterns, Inspiration

Leave a Reply

